Personal Sorts

Seriously DON’T take my picture. The Rantings of a Photophobe.

Some people don’t like emptying the dishwasher.

Some people don’t like flossing.

Some people, like me, DO NOT LIKE HAVING THEIR PICTURE TAKEN.

We are Photophobics, and you won’t find this word in the dictionary because I made it up.

Let me break it down for you.

  1. Photophobics cringe when they see YOU taking your dinky little camera/phone out of your bag.
  2. They don’t find it cute to say “cheese” or any other ridiculous phrase you people use to force us to smile.
  3. They are the people that want to knock you upside the head when you implement covert tactics to capture a moment.

You don’t have to understand, you don’t need to agree, it will probably never make sense to you and it’s not personal.

Obviously, I take this topic seriously. I have looked busted in too many pictures and as a result I am super insecure about it.  The worst is when someone takes my picture and then looks at it and says – “Yea you don’t look good in that one”.  No shit Sherlock!  I was hoping that you would point that out. Hold on let me get you some salt so you can throw it in my eyes.

Oh and one last point – when you put pressure on a photphobe you are only making it worse. We will come to terms with our phobia in our own way and our own time. I mean would you get mad at a newborn because it can’t walk?  Exactly, so lay off.

I have included some fantastically rotten pictures of myself down below – to prove my point.

Go ahead and laugh at my bustidiousness.  I will be trembling behind my computer screen and sinking further into my insecurities.

Are you a photophobe?  I wanna hear about it below.  Let it rip!!

Leave a Reply

