Poems, Poems and More Poems

A Poem – Corporate Morning Coffee Breath

Morning CoffeeI wrote this in 2008 while wasting away in a cubicle, behind a computer screen.

I’ve got corporate morning coffee breath

A pain that’s settled deep in my neck.

A paycheck that makes me all depressed

And I hate the way they have me dressed.

It reminds me of school in a kinda funny way

The pattern of each and every day.

Monday through Friday it’s all the same

How in the world did I get this way?

…finally got voice mail with my name.

What is this?

After a house with two screaming kids

Is this all that I have to look forward to?

A pitiful corporate me with a pitiful corporate you?

Is this all that I can be?

What if I’m not happy with security?

What if I crave more from this life?

What if I want more than just –

Mr. So and So’s wife?

I’ve got corporate morning coffee breath

A fax machine, my own chair and desk.

A pen and paper to organize my mess –

But don’t talk to loud cause you might disturb the rest.

In this suit I’m confined to these four walls

But in my mind, I hear a different call.

One that depends on what will make me happy

Not on a college degree or salary or a morning cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

